January Racing Report

Racers,

Happy New Year! Here is the 2013 Race Calendar. We have a fun packed year in store for you, so save these dates!

Day Sailor – Race 1
Saturday, Jan. 12

SPSA Good Old Boat Regatta
Saturday, January 26, 2013

Day Sailor – Race 2
Sunday, Jan. 27

Day Sailor – Race 3
Saturday, Feb. 9

DBC Valentine’s Short-Handed Race – Gulf Race #1
Saturday, February 16, 2013

Day Sailor – Race 4
Sunday, Feb. 24

Day Sailor – Race 5
Saturday, Mar. 9

Ensign – Mid Winters
Thursday, Friday, Saturday, March 14, 15 & 16

Gulf Race #2 – Gulfport Race/Cruise
Saturday, March 16, 2013

Day Sailor – Mid Winters
Friday, Saturday & Sunday, March 22, 23 & 24

SPYC Crown Cars Regatta @ PAG (WFBOTY, SPORC & “GULF” BOTY)
Saturday, March 23, 2013

SPYC/DIYC/BYC Suncoast Raceweek (WFBOTY, SPORC, DIBOTY & “Gulf”BOTY)
Saturday, April 4, 2013 to April 7, 2013

Day Sailor – Race 6
Saturday, Apr. 13

Gulf Race #3
Saturday, April 27, 2013

Day Sailor – Race 7
Saturday, Apr. 27

Gulf Race #4
Saturday, May 11, 2013

Day Sailor – Race 8
Saturday, May 11

Bone Island Regatta (Tampa to Key West)
May 14, 2013 to May 20, 2013

Day Sailor – Race 9
Saturday, May 18

Bay Race #1 & #2
Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Bay Race #3 & #4
Wednesday, for June 26, 2013

Bay Race #5 & #6
Wednesday, for July 17, 2013

Bay Race #7 & #8
Wednesday, for July 31, 2013

Gulf Race #4
Saturday, for August 24, 2013

Dunedin Cup 2013 (Gulf#5)
Saturday, September 28, 2013 t

Gulf Race#6
Saturday, October 19, 2013

Clearwater Challenge TBD
Saturday, November 2, 2013

DBC/SPYC @PAG Run (Gulf#7)
Sunday, November 3, 2013

I want to say a quick thank you to Dave Kelly who helped us out tremendously in 2012; he brought the Day Sailor’s into our club, organized the Portsmouth Invitational for the Dunedin Cup, and has graciously volunteered to CO-Chair the race committee with me for 2013.

This is a volunteer based sport, so if you see a race that you and your crew would like to be race committee let us know and we send you out with some experienced help and lunch!

Don’t miss our Kick-Off race the DBC Valentine’s Short-Handed Race – Gulf Race #1 On Saturday, February 16, 2013. Bring your best mate, and the shorthanded crew that finishes first wins a gift certificate to Bon Appetite, in Dunedin.

The 2013 Notice of Series and Sailing Instructions will be available shortly. The Series results from 2012 are available online at dunedinboatclub.org. Jim Schrader and Gary Shellenberger have updated the website, when you see them, please say, “Thanks!”. It has made it much easier for us to update the website. Take some time to look around and learn the new format. The “Racing” menu item will always get you to the NOR, SI, Signup, Entry List and other documents. On the right, under “Committee Post(s)” the “Racing” link will always get you to the monthly report.

See you on the water.

Paul Auman and Dave Kelly
DBC CO-Race Chairman

This entry was posted in Racing. Bookmark the permalink.